Thursday, June 10, 2010

Emerging Writer Fellowships Announced

Bookmark and Share

The Writer’s Center is pleased to announce the winners of the Fall 2010 Emerging Writer Fellowships. 
Doreen Baingana, Tropical Fish
Aryn Kyle, You Belong to Me

Alison Pelegrin, Big Muddy River of Stars
Jenny Browne, The Second Reason
Allison Benis White, Self Portrait with Crayon

Debra Gwartney, Live Through This

Our judges included representatives from The Writer’s Center’s Board of Directors, our corps of workshop leaders, and members of our community.  The judges were Takisha Adams, Margot Backas, Peter Brown, Shanti Chandrasekhar, Reb Livingston, Rion A. Scott, Cara Seitchek, and David Y. Todd.  We thank them for their service to this process!

The finalists were:

Matt Bell, How They Were Found
Matt Bondurant, The Wettest County in the World
Lee Houck, Yield
John Jodzio, If You Lived Here You’d Already Be Home
Lori Ostlund, The Bigness of the World
Matthew Pitt, Attention Please Now
Laura van den Berg, What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us
Steven Wingate, Wifeshopping
Andrew Wingfield, Hear Him Roar

Sally Ball, Annus Mirabilis
Neil de la Flor, Almost Dorothy
James Allen Hall, Now You’re the Enemy
Nick Lantz, The Lightning that Strikes the Neighbor’s House
Yahia Lababidi, Signposts to Elsewhere
Shelley Puhak, Stalin in Aruba
Lois Roma-Deeley, High Notes
Jason Schneiderman, Striking Surface
Mathias Svalina, Destruction Myth

Jessica Handler, Invisible Sisters
Tania Katan, My One Night Stand with Cancer
Shawna Kenney, Imposters
Tom McAllister, Bury Me in Jersey
Kathryn Miles, Adventures with Ari
Adam Ruben, Surviving Your Stupid, Stupid Decision to Go to Grad School
Jane Satterfield, Daughters of Empire: A Year in Britain and Beyond

The fellowship competition will be opened again for Spring 2011, with applications due in September 2010.  To learn more, click here.

No comments: